ccny_logo.gif about
members work
press and news
studio rental
past lectures
past exhibitions
private lessons
past residents


Announcing the 2014 Photography Competition Finalists
& Annual Juried Exhibition

Juried by Charlotte Cotton

Featuring work by:

Meghann Riepenhoff
First Place Winner

Cynthia Henebry
Second Place Winner

Katie Shapiro
Third Place Winner

September 19 – October 11, 2014
Artists Talk & Reception: Friday, September 19
Gallery Artists Talk: 6pm
Opening Reception: 7-9pm

at FOLEY gallery
97 Allen Street
(betw Delancey & Grand)
Lower East Side, NYC

2014 CCNY Juried Competition Finalists Online Gallery

Featuring the three top finalists, plus work from the fifteen Honorable Mention artists. Please click here to see the full competition website gallery.

Online gallery features work by:

Meghann Riepenhoff
First Place Winner
Cynthia Henebry
Second Place Winner
Katie Shapiro
Third Place Winner
Marco Bell
Eli Durst
Christian Erroi
Nona Faustine
Andrew Fillmore
Melanie Flood
Rebecca Hackemann
Erik Hagen
Jeremy August Haik
Ayano Hisa
Haley Morris-Cafiero
Jake Rowland
Nick Shepard
Yasuyuki Takagi
Daniel Terna
Honorable Mention Artists

CCNY is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2014 Annual Juried Photography Competition and an upcoming exhibition featuring the top three competition artists, juried by writer and curator Charlotte Cotton. The three top winners – First Place Winner Meghann Riepenhoff, Second Place Winner Cynthia Henebry, and Third Place Winner Katie Shapiro offer three different but cohesive visions of contemporary photographic practice.

After viewing almost 300 entries, juror Charlotte Cotton summed up her experience with this statement:
     “Just as I like to sit and listen to a photographer when visiting their studio, I read the artists’ statements before going through the portfolios. I’m interested in photography that achieves the intellectual and creative ambitions of its makers, first and foremost. There were many delights for me in looking at the submissions to CCNY 2014 – ranging from extensive and in-depth photographic projects to refined and specific investigations of photography’s image lexicon and materials. It is a challenge for any photographer to encapsulate their practice into the juried submission process and the photographers who I selected for the top three positions and the honorable mentions provided remarkably eloquent summaries of their work. It has been a privilege for me to get to see such new and interesting photography within the CCNY network.”

The 2014 CCNY Annual Juried Exhibition is being held in CCNY’s temporary space at FOLEY gallery in the Lower East Side. In addition to the exhibition, the winners will also have their work shown on the CCNY website from July 2014 on. Joining their work on the website will be work from fifteen Honorable Mentions artists – Marco Bell, Eli Durst, Christian Erroi, Nona Faustine, Andrew Fillmore, Melanie Flood, Rebecca Hackemann, Erik Hagen, Jeremy August Haik, Ayano Hisa, Haley Morris-Cafiero, Jake Rowland, Nick Shepard, Yasuyuki Takagi, and Daniel Terna. Please click here to see the full 2014 CCNY Juried Competition website gallery.

Charlotte Cotton is a writer and curator. She has held positions including a curator of photographs at the Victoria and Albert Museum, head of programming at The Photographers’ Gallery, London. She has also been head of the Wallis Annenberg Department of Photographs at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Charlotte has been a visiting scholar and critic at CCA, San Francisco; Parsons, SVA and ICP/Bard, New York; Yale University, New Haven; UPenn, Philadelphia; UC Riverside, UC Irvine and UCLA, California. She is the author of The Photograph as Contemporary Art, and founder of Words Without Pictures and

CCNY is celebrating over 125 years serving the photographic and art community through this and upcoming exhibitions, lectures, and special events. For more information, contact John Stanley at or by phone at 212–260–9927.

pixie.gif pixie.gif

Meghan Riepenhoff
Meghan Riepenhoff

Cynthia Henebry
Cynthia Henebry

Katie Shapiro
Katie Shapiro